Video

Split This Rock :: 20 Nov 15

Poem of the Week

E. Ethelbert Miller

Are you listening?

If I was tree green instead of black
they would come and cut my branches,
destroy my roots, transport my
life and turn me into paper pulp.
Everything would be lost to history
like disappearing forests and burning woods.
Yes, they would cut me down with a sharp
axe and say I fell on my own and would
you my dear, hear my sound?
* * * 

Used with permission.

 
* * *
E. Ethelbert Miller is a literary activist and the board chair of the Institute for Policy Studies (IPS). The Collected Poems  of  E. Ethelbert Miller edited by Kirsten Porter will be released by Willow Books in March 2016. To learn more visit Ethelbert’s website.
* * * 
Please feel free to share Split This Rock Poem of the Week widely. We just ask you to include all of the information in this post, including this request. Thanks!
To read more poems of provocation and witness, please visit The Quarry: A Social Justice Poetry Database at SplitThisRock.org.
What say you, then, Traveller?

